WEST WARWICK — The deadline for candidates to file their declarations for local and state offices for the upcoming election has come and passed. Both Coventry and West Warwick are looking at several newcomers entering in their respective races, as well as several incumbents working to keep their seats.

Hopefuls for positions on the West Warwick Town Council include Independent incumbent Angelo A. Padula Jr. and Democrat Mary Quinn Williamson vying for Ward 1; Democrat Justin Coutu, Independent Richard J. Houle and Democratic incumbent David Gosselin Jr. for Ward 2; and Independent incumbent Jason K. Messier versus Independent Anna M. Spodnik for Ward 3.

Several seats on the West Warwick School Committee are also being contested, including District 1, currently being held by incumbent Republican Patricia A. Keenan, who will be running against Democrat Joseph A. DiMartino. The district 2 race includes Democratic incumbent Rene E. Coutu and Democrat Richard A. Dubois Jr. Democratic incumbent Luis R. Colon is running against Independent Christopher R. Messier.

Over in Coventry the school committee seats are uncontested, with District 2 Coventry School Committee Chairwoman Katherine M. Patenaude running, as well as district 3 member Donna M. Kalunian and district 5 representative James P. Pierson. Seats open on the Coventry Town Council include districts 1 and 4. The district 1 race will include David S. Dadekian, current Coventry School Committee Member Ann M. Dickson and Sherry A. Elderkin. The district 4 race will involve Gary P. Cote and April Campopiano.

There are also a number of seats up for grabs in the Rhode Island General Assembly for the districts representing West Warwick and Coventry. District 9 democratic incumbent senator Adam J. Satchell will be running against Republican David F. Gaipo. In district 21, the seat once held by former Senator Nicholas Kettle, there are four different candidates vying for the spot, including Independent Michael D. Fine, Republican Julie K. Lamin, Republican Gordon E. Rogers and Democrat James S. Safford. Democratic incumbent Hanna M. Gallo is running to keep her seat in District 27, alongside Republican Jonathan J. Keith. Democratic incumbent Senator Lou Raptakis will defend his seat representing District 33 against Republican Scott R. Copley.

Over in the House, the District 25 seat currently held by Representative Jared Nunes, who is not seeking re-election, will be sought after by Republican Dorinne L. Albright and Democratic Thomas E. Noret. The District 26 seat currently held by House Minority Leader and Republican gubernatorial candidate Patricia Morgan has five different challengers this year, including Independent Paul Pasqual Caianoiello Jr., Republican Tammy L. Collins, and Democrats Jeanne-Marie DiMasi, James B. Jackson and Vincent Marzullo. District 27 representative Patricia A. Serpa will defend her seat against Republican Mark E. Bourget. Robert Nardolillo III’s District 28 seat will be sought by Democrats Scott J. Guthrie and Lucas W. Murray as well as Republicans George A. Nardone and Charles M. Vacca Jr. The District 29 race includes Republican incumbent Sherry Roberts against Independent Ernest J. Nardolillo. Finally, District 40 Representative Michael W. Chippendale will defend his seat against Democrat Lauren Niedelgresh.

Rhode Island’s statewide primary will be held on Wednesday, September 12, while the statewide general election is scheduled for Tuesday, November 6.

Follow Kendra Port on Twitter @kendrarport

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.