Skip to main content

Narragansett School Committee members sworn in, assess needs

November 21, 2010

Photo By Brett Warnke Narrragansett School Committee members were sworn in Wednesday night at Town Hall.

NARRAGANSETT—The town’s School Committee members (Tammy McNeiece, Diane Nobles, Frank White, Douglas Pierson, and Guy DeWardener) were sworn in during an executive session before the public meeting on Wednesday. For Pierson and DeWardener, it was the first meeting of their two-year term.
Pier Middle School Principal Marie-Elena Ahern spoke about the “Homework Club.” Forty students attend the optional program. Some students (in collaboration with parents) are mandated to attend the catch-up and remediation sessions which are overseen by certified school staff.

The School Committee also agreed to purchase a $7,979 treadmill for students in the special education department with autism and apraxia. McNeiece asked several questions about funding when student detention and remediation were addressed. “There are going to be more questions about these and other issues this year,” she said, alluding to budget concerns. Superintendent Sipala expressed her understanding of the bleak budget situation but was wary of short-changing the school system.

For more information pick up a copy of The Narragansett Times.

View more articles in:


Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes